Call for Nominations: The Simon Award

The Executive Board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy–which will present Jack Copeland the 2016 Covey Award at IACAP 2016, June 14-17, University of Ferrara, Italy–seeks nominations for the Simon Award.

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research.

Recent Simon Award winners include:

2015: Michael Rescorla (University of California-Santa Barbara)
2014: Gualtiero Piccinini (University of Missouri-St. Louis)
2013: Judith Simon (IT University Copenhagen & University of Vienna)
2012: Patrick Allo (Oxford Internet Institute)
2011: John Sullins (Sonoma State)
2010: Mariarosaria Taddeo (Oxford Internet Institute)

Nominations for the Simon Award may be proposed either by academic institutions or by colleagues with some expertise in computing and philosophy.

To nominate, please send names and website URLs (or CVs) to: Don Berkich <> by 1 November 2015.

For more information about IACAP 2016, including paper and symposium submission deadlines and links, please see

2016 Covey Award: Jack Copeland

The Covey Award recognizes senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived.

The IACAP Board is delighted to announce that Professor Jack Copeland will be presented with the Covey Award at IACAP 2016 in Ferrara, Italy, where he will present the Covey Award Keynote Address.

Jack Copeland FRS NZ is Distinguished Professor in Arts at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, where he is Director of the Turing Archive for the History of Computing. He is also Honorary Research Professor of Philosophy at the University of Queensland, Australia, and in 2012 was Royden B. Davis Visiting Chair of Interdisciplinary Studies in the Department of Psychology at Georgetown University, Washington DC. In 2013-14 he was Visiting Professor of Information Science at Copenhagen University. He co-directs the Turing Centre at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich.

A Londoner by birth, Jack earned a D.Phil. in mathematical logic from the University of Oxford, where he was a student of Turing’s great friend Robin Gandy.

His books include The Essential Turing (Oxford University Press), Colossus: The Secrets of Bletchley Park’s Codebreaking Computers (Oxford University Press), Alan Turing’s Electronic Brain (Oxford University Press), Computability: Turing, Gödel, Church, and Beyond (MIT Press), Logic and Reality (Oxford University Press), and Artificial Intelligence (Blackwell). He has published more than 100 journal articles on the philosophy and history of computing, and on mathematical and philosophical logic. Oxford University Press published his highly accessible paperback biography Turing in October last year. He is currently co-authoring a book on the philosophy and cognitive science of religion, to be published by Blackwell-Wiley in the US and UK in 2016, and his co-authored The Turing Guide will appear with Oxford University Press in 2016.

Jack has been script advisor, co-writer, and scientific consultant for a number of documentaries on Turing. One of these, the BBC’s Code-Breakers: Bletchley Park’s Lost Heroes, won two BAFTAs (British Academy of Film and Television Arts awards) in 2012, and was listed as one of the year’s three best historical documentaries at the 2013 Media Impact Awards in New York City. A European TV documentary about Turing for which he was script consultant and ‘talking head’ won the audience’s Best Documentary prize at the 2015 FIGRA European film festival, and the film was also selected to represent the European Arte TV channel in Tokyo at the 2015 annual international TV festival INPUT. His Stanford University Lecture ‘Turing: Pioneer of the Information Age’ has received more than 60,000 views on YouTube to date ( and his MIT lecture’Alan Turing: Codebreaker and AI Pioneer’ is ranked by iTunes as the No. 1 video web resource on Turing ( Jack received the Scientific American Sci/Tech Web Award for his on-line archive

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Venue

The conference venue, the Clayton Conference Center, is adjacent the Marriott Hotel; they share an entrance off route 896. The address is

400 David Hollowell Dr
Newark, DE 19716

Please see this map for more information.

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Early Registration Now Open

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Early Registration Now Open

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Conference Registration
Registration Type Early After June 10th
Non-members $250.00 $300.00
CEPE or IACAP Members $200.00 $250.00
One-Day Rate $75.00 $100.00
Students $15.00 $20.00

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Early Registration Fee

$50.00 Banquet Fee (payable at the conference)

CEPE-IACAP 2015 Logistics

Hotel Reservations:

Group rate room reservations are now available at the Marriott Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware:

Start date: 6/20/15
End date: 6/24/15
Last day to book: 5/22/15
Room Rate: 159.00 USD per night

Book your group rate for IACAP/CEPE Conference here.


Air Transportation

The closest airports are Philadelphia International Airport (PHL, preferred) or Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI).

Ground Transportation

The best option for transportation from the airport to the conference hotel is by way of Delaware Express (please select the “Go Van” option to make reservations’).

The Philadelphia to Newark, DE trains on a system called SEPTA is also a possibility. The Newark stop is served, although infrequently (train-schedule).

Simon Award 2015: Michael Rescorla

President Mariarosaria Taddeo and the IACAP Executive Board are proud to announce that Michael Rescorla (UC-Santa Barbara) is this year’s winner of the Simon Award in honor of the promising and impressive research agenda he has developed in computing and philosophy.

We will present Dr. Rescorla with the Simon Award at the University of Delaware June 22-25 during CEPE-IACAP 2015 Congratulations to Dr. Rescorla on this signature achievement and thank you everyone for your nominations.