The Covey Award

The Covey Award recognizes senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived.

Covey Award candidates may be proposed either by their home institution or by fellow scholars of computing and philosophy who are well-versed in the candidate’s work.


The Herbert A. Simon Award

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research.

Nominations for the Herbert A. Simon Award may be proposed either by academic institutions or by colleagues with some expertise in computing and philosophy.


The Brian Michael Goldberg Memorial Award

The “Brian Michael Goldberg Memorial Award” is presented to graduate students in recognisance of outstanding achievements in the areas of Computing and Philosophy.

This award is sponsored by the Department of Philosophy at Carnegie Mellon and carries a $500 USD stipend, which will be presented during the award ceremony during the yearly IACAP conference. Nominees and applicants are welcome from around the world.

This Award was made possible by a generous gift from Dr. Gerald and Nancy Goldberg in memory of their son, Brian Michael Goldberg. In their words:

Brian was a twenty-two year old student who was admitted to Carnegie Mellon University in 1991 to the doctoral program in philosophy. He died unexpectedly before he could realize his dream of attending Carnegie Mellon. Brian was an independent thinker who loved competition and a good challenge. Throughout his life, he found it exciting to enter and win contests. He loved challenging his mind, especially by studying philosophy, mathematics and logic. He loved challenging his creativity through photography, painting and theatre arts. He loved challenging his body by learning such diverse sports as wrestling, fencing and scuba diving. He loved debating and challenging others to think in new ways and had seriously considered becoming a university professor. To honor who he was and what he loved, this Goldberg Memorial Award is offered to challenge and motivate other graduate students in Brian’s chosen field of study.


  • 2014: Simon Knight (Open University)
  • 2013: Nir Fresco (University of New South Wales)
  • 2012: Ryan Tonkens (York University-Toronto)
  • 2011: Cameron Buckner (Indiana University)
  • 2010: Derek Jones, Indiana University: “Animat modelling”
  • 2009: Matteo Turilli, Oxford University: “Translating Ethical Requirements into Software Specification”
  • 2008: Chih-Chun Chen, University College London: “A Process Interpretation of Agent-Based Simulation and Its Epistemological Implications“
  • 2007: Rory Smead, University of California, Irvine: “The Evolution of Cooperation in the Centipede Game with Finite Populations”

The Barwise Prize

This prize is not awarded by IACAP, but by the American Philosophical Association, in conjunction with the APA Committee on Philosophy and Computers. The Barwise Prize was established for significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing. The Prize will serve to credit those within our profession for their life-long efforts in this field. It will also serve to acknowledge and to encourage work in all areas relevant to the “computational turn” that is occurring in our profession. Examples of areas that are of interest to the Committee in selecting candidates for this Prize include: The use of computers in the teaching of philosophy; the use of computers as research tools in philosophy; the philosophical aspects of artificial intelligence; and the area of computer ethics.

The Committee has selected the name of Jon Barwise for this Prize because his life’s work exemplifies a concern with research and teaching; his efforts are often embodied in the production of courseware and changes of curriculum. His contributions were significant and sustained. Jon, in fact, is a model for the kind of philosopher we seek to acknowledge with the awarding of an annual Barwise Prize.

For more information on the prize, please visit The American Philosophical Association Online.


    • 2018: Gualtiero Piccinini (University of Missouri–St. Louis)
    • 2017: B. Jack Copeland (University of Canterbury)
    • 2016: Edward N. Zalta (Stanford University)
    • 2015: William Rapaport (University at Buffalo)
    • 2014: Helen Nissenbaum (New York University)
    • 2013: Colin Allen (Indiana University-Bloomington)
    • 2012: [no award given]
    • 2011: Dr. Douglas R. Hofstadter (Indiana University)
    • 2010: Dr. Jaakko Hintikka (Boston University)
    • 2009: Dr. Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire)
    • 2008: Dr. Terry Bynum (Southern Connecticut State University)
    • 2007: Dr. David Chalmers (Australian National University)
    • 2006: Dr. James H. Moor (Dartmouth College)
    • 2005: Dr. Hubert Dreyfus (UC Berkeley)
    • 2004: Dr. Deborah Johnson (University of Virginia)
    • 2003: Dr. Daniel Dennett (Tufts University)
    • 2002: Dr. Patrick Suppes (Stanford University)