Call for Nominations: The Simon Award

The Executive Board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy–which will present Jack Copeland the 2016 Covey Award at IACAP 2016, June 14-17, University of Ferrara, Italy–seeks nominations for the Simon Award.

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research.

Recent Simon Award winners include:

2015: Michael Rescorla (University of California-Santa Barbara)
2014: Gualtiero Piccinini (University of Missouri-St. Louis)
2013: Judith Simon (IT University Copenhagen & University of Vienna)
2012: Patrick Allo (Oxford Internet Institute)
2011: John Sullins (Sonoma State)
2010: Mariarosaria Taddeo (Oxford Internet Institute)

Nominations for the Simon Award may be proposed either by academic institutions or by colleagues with some expertise in computing and philosophy.

To nominate, please send names and website URLs (or CVs) to: Don Berkich <> by 1 November 2015.

For more information about IACAP 2016, including paper and symposium submission deadlines and links, please see