Call for Nominations: The Herbert A. Simon Award, 2024

The executive board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP) seeks nominations for the 2024 Herbert A. Simon Award.

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research. Previous recipients of the award include:

  • 2023: Kathleen Creel (Northeastern University)
  • 2022: Björn Lundgren (Utrecht University)
  • 2021: Carissa Véliz (Hertford College, University of Oxford) 
  • 2020: no award
  • 2019: Juan M. Durán (Delft University of Technology)
  • 2018: Thomas C. King (Oxford Internet Institute)
  • 2017: Andrea Scarantino (Georgia State University)
  • 2016: Marcin Milkowski (The Institute of Philosophy and Sociology of the Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • 2015: Michael Rescorla (University of California-Santa Barbara)
  • 2014: Gualterio Piccinini (U Missouri- St. Louis)
  • 2013: Judith Simon (University of Vienna)
  • 2012: Patrick Allo (Vrije Universiteit Brussels)
  • 2011: John Sullins (Sonoma State)
  • 2010: Mariarosaria Taddeo (University of Hertfordshire; University of Oxford)

The Covey award will be presented at the 2024 conference, July 8-10, in Eugene, Oregon, USA. See the IACAP’s website for our CFA:

Please note that the board will prima facie consider around 10 years from receiving a PhD as a cutoff for whether a scholar is at “an early stage of their academic career.” If you for some reason want to nominate someone who received their PhD more than 10 years ago, please state clearly why the board should make an exception. Alternatively, consider whether the individual contribution is sufficient for consideration of the Covey award.

Please send your nomination(s) through our online form:

Please fill in the form no later than December 20, 2023, for full consideration. If you have any questions, please email me at (please CC Or contact the IACAP board through Slack.