Call for Nominations: The Covey Award, 2024

The executive board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP), seeks nominations for the 2024 Covey Award.

The Covey Award recognizes senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived. Recipients of the prestigious award include:

  • 2023: Oron Shagrir (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
  • 2022: Shannon Vallor (The University of Edinburgh)
  • 2021: Helen Nissenbaum (Cornell Tech, New York City) 
  • 2020: no award
  • 2019: John Weckert (Charles Sturt University)
  • 2018: Deborah G. Johnson (University of Virginia)
  • 2017: Raymond Turner (University of Essex)
  • 2016: Jack Copeland (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)
  • 2015: William J. Rapaport (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York)
  • 2014: Selmer Bringsjord (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
  • 2013: Margaret Boden (University of Sussex)
  • 2012: Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire)
  • 2011: Terrell Bynum (Southern Connecticut State University)
  • 2010: John R. Searle (University of California, Berkeley)
  • 2009: Edward N. Zalta (Stanford University)

The Covey award will be presented at the 2024 conference, July 8-10, in Eugene, Oregon, USA. See the IACAP’s website for our CFA:

Please send your nomination(s) through our online form:

Please fill in the form no later than December 20, 2023, full consideration. If you have any questions, please email me at (please CC Or contact the IACAP board through Slack.